1000 Miles of Memories

2017 journey to run 1000 miles honoring those with Alzheimers and the loving people who care for them.

January 1, 2013 New Year’s Double Half Marathon

Leave a comment

  • 13.1  –  Miles Run Today
  • 13.1  –  Miles Run 2013
  • $50   –  $ Raised 2013
  •     5    –  Alzheimer’s Patients/Care Givers Honored

Today’s Memory

What a wonderful way to start the new year and this 1000 mile journey!  Today was the second day of the New Year’s Double in Allen, Texas.  I had the pleasure of running a half marathon with two of my daughters – Christina and Ashley.  The temperature was a refreshing(?) 37 degrees with a brisk wind and cloudy skies.  While there were many memorable times in this race my favorite two are:

  1. Rounding the corner at mile 13 to see my wife, Kathryn, and daughter, Christina, cheering us on to the finish.  Note:  Christina had finished the race 58 minutes earlier and had already changed clothes, rested, had snacks, etc.  She is a three time Ironman so it was just an honor to run the race with her!!
  2. Trying to out sprint daughter, Ashley to the finish line.  What was I thinking?  I should have known that she would save some energy to beat her dear old Dad!  Just wait until next time Ashley!!

I can’t wait to see what the rest of the year will bring.  If you would like to support my fundraising efforts please visit my site at http://www.crowdrise.com/1000milesofmemories/

Thank you for joining me…..

Keith

photo

Leave a Reply

