1000 Miles of Memories

2017 journey to run 1000 miles honoring those with Alzheimers and the loving people who care for them.

January 2, 2013 Birthday Pancakes

Leave a comment

  •   7.0  –  Miles Run Today
  • 20.1  –  Miles Run 2013
  • $50   –  $ Raised 2013
  •     5    –  Alzheimer’s Patients/Care Givers Honored

Today’s Memory

I usually take the day off to rest my legs after a long run like the 13.1 mile one yesterday.  However, I am in training to run my first full marathon in Austin on February 17th so my plan told me otherwise.  Today was a scheduled 7 mile run with a regular speed first mile, followed by five progressively faster miles and ending with one last regular mile.  I was exhausted at the end but glad I was able to finish.  To be honest the ice bath afterwards was worse than the work out!!

Today was my daughter Christina’s birthday.   I was so fortunate to be able to celebrate with her at my home.  Tradition dictates that I make pancakes in the shape of the number of the birthday.  I have been doing this now for almost three decades for all of my girls.  This is my memory for today.  I love you, Christina!!

What are some of your families traditions which bring fond memories?

Thank you for joining me on this journey. If you would like to pay tribute to an Alzheimer’s patient or care giver please email me at Thousandmilesofmemories@yahoo.com.  Names will be added to a tribute book which accompanies me on training runs and to ribbons attached to my running gear on race days.

Keith

Leave a Reply

