1000 Miles of Memories

2017 journey to run 1000 miles honoring those with Alzheimers and the loving people who care for them.

January 8, 2013 Hill Poetry

Leave a comment

  •             0  –  Miles Run Today
  •      41.40  –  Miles Run 2013
  • $170.00   –  $ Raised 2013
  •          15    –  Alzheimer’s Patients/Care Givers Honored

Today’s Memory

Today was a rest day….my legs are so grateful!  I am also grateful to Susan Gastrock for her generous donation and support!  Thank you, Susan!

On my way home from work I drove up a small hill on a street that I run in the neighborhood.  The hill looks much more intimidating when you are running it!  Anyway…I digress.  Going up the hill reminded me of a poem that I memorized in elementary school and still remember today.  Here it goes….

HOW TO TELL THE TOP OF THE HILL

by John Ciardi

The top of a hill
Is not until
The bottom is below.
And you have to stop
When you reach the top
For there’s no more UP to go.
To make it plain
Let me explain:
The one most reason why
You have to stop
When you reach the top — is:
The next step up is sky.

You are welcome for this incredibly cultural blog entry!  Make it a memorable day!

Keith

Leave a Reply

